Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Scribes fete collegiate stars

Former Ateneo star Thirdy Ravena and two other college basketball aces will be honored in the Collegiate Press Corps Awards night on Monday.

PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF UAAP Former Ateneo star Thirdy Ravena and two other college basketball aces will be honored in the Collegiate Press Corps Awards night on Monday.

Thirdy Ravena leads two other stellar collegiate cage stars who will be honored by the Collegiate Press Corps when it holds its annual Awards Night on Monday at The Hummingbird Rooftop Bar in Quezon City.

The Ateneo de Manila University standout will be feted along with teammate Ange Kouame and Colegio de San Juan de Letran ace Rhenz Abando as winners of the Collegiate Basketball Player of the Year award presented by San Miguel Corporation and backed by the Philippine Sports Commission.

The trio will highlight the return of the awards rites after a four-year pandemic hiatus as the Collegiate Press Corps, composed of sportswriters from the print and online outfits covering the University Athletic Association of the Philippines and National Collegiate Athletic Association, celebrate the accomplishments of basketball and volleyball student-athletes.

Ravena earned top honors for the 2019-20 athletic year, as he capped his glittering Blue Eagles career by helping his team complete a perfect 16-0 campaign in UAAP Season 82.

He was named the Finals Most Valuable Player after leading the way in Ateneo’s sweep of University of Santo Tomas with averages of 24.5 points, 6.0 rebounds and 4.0 assists in two games.

Abando, meanwhile, is the top collegiate player for the 2021-22 season wherein he made history with the Knights.

In his first and only season in the NCAA, Abando was named both the Rookie of the Year and the MVP, while leading Letran to the Season 97 throne.

He averaged 15.73 points, 6.36 rebounds, 1.73 assists, and 1.27 blocks.

Rounding out the awardees is Ateneo’s Kouame, who will be celebrated for his efforts in the 2022-23 athletic season.

The naturalized Filipino center was the UAAP MVP in Season 84, and the Finals MVP in Season 85 when the Blue Eagles regained the championship.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Manny Pacquiao knows his time is up. This was the keen observation made by a longtime member of his training team who spent dinner...


The dynamic duo of Johnmar “OhMyV33nus” Villaluna and Danerie James “Wise” del Rosario is back with a bang after leading Blacklist International to a...


The University Athletic Association of the Philippines will have a full calendar of sports events for Season 85 starting 1 October. UAAP President Fr....


ECHO has revealed its roster for the upcoming M4 Mobile Legends World Championship to be held 1-15 January 2023 in Jakarta, Indonesia. The seven...


It’s going to be business as usual as the Philippine Basketball Association will not stop its on-court activities when it gives way for the...


It doesn’t look as if newly-crowned Melvin Jerusalem will get the luxury of defending his minimumweight crown against a handpicked rival after the World...


Mitchell, meanwhile, is a six-foot shooting guard frowm Hartford University.


Legendary boxing referee Carlos ‘Sonny’ Padilla was recently inducted into the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame. Famous for serving as the third man in...