Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Collegiate stars take spotlight

College basketball and volleyball stars gather on a night of celebration when the Collegiate Press Corps holds its annual Awards Night today at the Hummingbird Rooftop Bar in Quezon City.

After being sidelined for three years due to the pandemic, the group consisting of reporters covering the University Athletic Association of the Philippines and the National Collegiate Athletic Association will once again honor the top student-athletes from school years 2019 to 2023.

Highlighting the event presented by San Miguel Corporation and backed by the Philippine Sports Commission is the recognition of the CPC Collegiate Basketball Players of the Year and their volleyball counterparts.

Ateneo de Manila University’s Thirdy Ravena and Ange Kouame and Letran Rhenz Abando will be feted as Basketball Players of the Year.

Ravena will be awarded the 2019-20 edition of the plum after willing the Blue Eagles to a 16-0 sweep of the UAAP Season 82 men’s basketball tournament, giving the Blue Eagles a third straight crown.

Ateneo de Manila University’s Thirdy Ravena and Ange Kouame and Letran Rhenz Abando will be feted as Basketball Players of the Year.

Joining Ravena in the year’s Mythical Five are Letran’s Jerrick Balanza and Fran Yu, San Beda’s Calvin Oftana and University of Santo Tomas’ Soulemane Chabi Yo.

Abando, meanwhile, will take home the 2021-2022 edition of the award after helping the Knights complete a sweep of their own in Season 97, all while accomplishing the rare feat of being both the Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player in the process.

Letran teammate Jeo Ambohot joins Abando in that year’s Mythical Team alongside University of the Philippines’ Carl Tamayo and Malick Diouf and Ateneo’s Kouame, who turned out to be the best collegiate cager in the following year.

Kouame will wrap up the troika of Collegiate Basketball Players of the Year awardees after a stellar showing in Season 85, bringing the crown back to Loyola in his final year of eligibility.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Manny Pacquiao knows his time is up. This was the keen observation made by a longtime member of his training team who spent dinner...


The dynamic duo of Johnmar “OhMyV33nus” Villaluna and Danerie James “Wise” del Rosario is back with a bang after leading Blacklist International to a...


The University Athletic Association of the Philippines will have a full calendar of sports events for Season 85 starting 1 October. UAAP President Fr....


ECHO has revealed its roster for the upcoming M4 Mobile Legends World Championship to be held 1-15 January 2023 in Jakarta, Indonesia. The seven...


It’s going to be business as usual as the Philippine Basketball Association will not stop its on-court activities when it gives way for the...


It doesn’t look as if newly-crowned Melvin Jerusalem will get the luxury of defending his minimumweight crown against a handpicked rival after the World...


Mitchell, meanwhile, is a six-foot shooting guard frowm Hartford University.


Legendary boxing referee Carlos ‘Sonny’ Padilla was recently inducted into the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame. Famous for serving as the third man in...