Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Tri SND Barracuda rules Asia TriClub

MEMBERS and supporters of the Tri SND Barracuda celebrate after dominating the Asia TriClub and Relay Championship in the IRONMAN 70.3 in Puerto Princesa on Sunday. | PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF Ironman

PUERTO PRINCESA CITY — Tri SND Barracuda showcased remarkable teamwork as it dominated the opposition and secured the prestigious Asia TriClub and Relay Championship crown in the IRONMAN 70.3 Puerto Princesa here Sunday.

In a test of endurance and strategy over a challenging course, Tri SND Barracuda’s tactical brilliance shone through, foiling local and foreign bidders and propelling the team to victory in the IM 70.3 Puerto Princesa, which served as first-time host to the Asia TriClub Championship Series.

Tri SND Barracuda drew strength from men’s overall individual winner Satar Salem, last year’s IM 70.3 Puerto Princesa champion John Alcala, Kenneth Bonda, Jailani Lamama and Mohammad Maruhom, whose cumulative times in the 1.9-kilometer swim, 90-km bike, and 21.1-km run race netted the country’s top triathlon squad a whopping P500,000 purse put up by Puerto Princesa Mayor Lucilo Bayron.

The best five likewise received an additional P50,000 prize.

Under the IRONMAN 70.3 points system for the Asia TriClub series, the fastest athlete to finish in a category receives 3,500 points with every minute behind the first finisher, diminishing their points by 18-per-minute.

With 28 individual participants and six relay teams, Tri SND Barracuda posted three first place feats, three second place efforts and another three third place finishes. All six Tri SND Barracuda relay teams also turned in podium finishes with one ending up fourth.

Tri SND Barracuda thus finished way ahead of Gas Coaching, which fielded in 16 individual entries and one relay team, with total cumulative points of 103,523 against the latter’s 22,280.

Tri SND Barracuda actually swept the top honors in the second edition of the IM 70.3 Puerto Princesa as Salem nipped Chinese Junyu Cao by mere 48 seconds with a total clocking of four hours, 22 minutes and 25 seconds for the men’s individual crown and Leyann Ramo dominated the women’s side in 05:02:56.

Each took home P60,000 following another successful staging of the premier endurance race organized by The IRONMAN Group/Sunrise Events, Inc.

Other winners of P10,000 were Sky Gaco (fastest swim time – (26:28), Marc Lago (fastest bike time – 2:10:44) and Rogen Aguirre (fastest run time – 1:15:13).

Isabela Tri Club, meanwhile, topped the relay mixed over Tri SND Barracuda and Go for Gold, while Go for Gold B ruled the relay men’s over Tri SND Barracuda and Isabela Tri, while Isabela Tri Club Girls bested Tri SND Barracuda 3 and Wednesday Tri for the relay women’s crown in the event which served as the 10th leg of the IRONMAN TriClub Championship Series.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Manny Pacquiao knows his time is up. This was the keen observation made by a longtime member of his training team who spent dinner...


The dynamic duo of Johnmar “OhMyV33nus” Villaluna and Danerie James “Wise” del Rosario is back with a bang after leading Blacklist International to a...


The University Athletic Association of the Philippines will have a full calendar of sports events for Season 85 starting 1 October. UAAP President Fr....


ECHO has revealed its roster for the upcoming M4 Mobile Legends World Championship to be held 1-15 January 2023 in Jakarta, Indonesia. The seven...


It’s going to be business as usual as the Philippine Basketball Association will not stop its on-court activities when it gives way for the...


It doesn’t look as if newly-crowned Melvin Jerusalem will get the luxury of defending his minimumweight crown against a handpicked rival after the World...


Mitchell, meanwhile, is a six-foot shooting guard frowm Hartford University.


Legendary boxing referee Carlos ‘Sonny’ Padilla was recently inducted into the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame. Famous for serving as the third man in...