Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Macalaguim wins Orchard title

Gab Macalaguim made short work of Ace Stehmeier, 6 and 5, to win the 2023 Orchard club championships at the Orchard Golf and Country Club in Dasmarinas, Cavite on Sunday.

It was Macalaguim’s first club championship.

On his way to the final, he ousted JP Castrillo, 3 and 2, in the quarterfinals before showing the door to actor Derek Ramsay, 3 and 2, in the semifinals.

Stehmeier, on the other hand, disposed of Darwin Mago, 2 and 1, and Santino Laurel, 6 and 4.

In the Class A final, Riane Casquejo held off Anthony See, 3 and 2. He edged Josed Oca, 6 and 4, and Lu Hong Zheng, 3 and 2.

See took out Louie Garcia, 6 and 5 and Lex Macaranas, 6 and 4.

Jonas Figueroa emerged Class B champion at the expense of Julio Salvador, 4 and 3. He won his quarterfinal match with Dondi Primicias, 7 and 6, before taking out Ryan Chu, 1-up, in the semifinals.

Salvador whipped Gene Basa, 5 and 3, and got a free ride to the final after semifinal opponent Tonichi Yturri conceded.

In Class C, Dexter Lim came out on top in his final match with Rommel Hermoso, 2 and 1. He dumped Augusto Arreza, 6 and 5, and George Jaro, 2 and 1.

Hermoso defeated Joel Sarmiento, 3 and 2, and Charles Cebedo, 3 and 2.

The Class D final went 21 holes with Willy Tee Ten outlasting Jedy Gonzales, 4 and 3.

On the way to the final, Tee Ten humbled Mac Si, 5 and 4, and Ivan Justiano, 3 and 2.

Routs marked the finals in the seniors and super seniors brackets.

Kenneth Kim dumped Jock Stacey, 6 and 5, after winning by default over Joe Gonzales and Ryan Abdon, 1-up, in the senior bracket.

Stacey, on the other hand, ripped Louie Garcia, 4 and 3, and Marlon Villanueva, 3 and 2, to get to the final.

In the super seniors class, Romy Serrano walloped Vic Guzman, 7 and 6. He earlier blasted Bernie Julve, 7 and 6, and Mario Lugay, 2 and 1.

Guzman won by default over Gali Espiritu and rolled back Ed Abesamis, 5 and 4.

Roh Kyuing Ae won the ladies’ title after routing Jo Barredo, 8 and 7, while Leanne Zuniega went home with the ladies’ Class A crown after turning back Amy Dy, 3 and 1.

In the dependents’ division, Tristan Padila beat Zach Castro, 2 and 1, to bring home the trophy.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Manny Pacquiao knows his time is up. This was the keen observation made by a longtime member of his training team who spent dinner...


The dynamic duo of Johnmar “OhMyV33nus” Villaluna and Danerie James “Wise” del Rosario is back with a bang after leading Blacklist International to a...


The University Athletic Association of the Philippines will have a full calendar of sports events for Season 85 starting 1 October. UAAP President Fr....


ECHO has revealed its roster for the upcoming M4 Mobile Legends World Championship to be held 1-15 January 2023 in Jakarta, Indonesia. The seven...


It’s going to be business as usual as the Philippine Basketball Association will not stop its on-court activities when it gives way for the...


It doesn’t look as if newly-crowned Melvin Jerusalem will get the luxury of defending his minimumweight crown against a handpicked rival after the World...


Mitchell, meanwhile, is a six-foot shooting guard frowm Hartford University.


Legendary boxing referee Carlos ‘Sonny’ Padilla was recently inducted into the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame. Famous for serving as the third man in...